EU excludes US from travel 'safe list'

The European Union has excluded the US from its initial safe list of countries from which the bloc will allow non-essential travel.
In a statement the Council of the EU, which represents EU governments, said the 27-member bloc gave approval on Tuesday to leisure or business travel from 14 countries beyond its borders. 
The countries are Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia and Uruguay.
China has also been provisionally approved, although travel would only open up if Chinese authorities also allowed in EU visitors. 
Reciprocity is a condition of being on the list.
Russia, Brazil and Turkey, along with the United States, are among countries whose containment of  the virus is considered worse than that of the EU average and so will have to wait at least two weeks. 
The bloc will carry out fortnightly reviews.

comments powered by Disqus
Most Popular
Two found murdered in Westmoreland