National honours & awards conferred

More than 100 Jamaicans received national honours and awards for service and dedication to Jamaica during Monday's Herores' Day National Honours and Award Ceremony at Kings House.

Among the group was Usain Bolt, Olympic champion and double sprint world record holder who was conferred with the Order of the Jamaica.

At 23, Bolt is the youngest Jamaican to be honoured with the Order of Jamaica.

Renowned poet and author Professor Mervyn Morris, was awarded the Order of Merit for his distinguished contribution to the field of West Indian Literature.

Dr. Carolyn Gomes was awarded with Order of Jamaica for her contribution to human rights advocacy as well as Professor Gordon Shirley for academia.

Dr. Hazel Bennett, the wife Wycliffe Bennett, collected the award for the late theatre icon and media luminary who died earlier this month.

Prime Minister Bruce Golding announced on Saturday that Mr. Bennett would be conferred with the Order of Jamaica. 

Deputy Commissioner of Police Jevene Bent and her colleague Deputy Commissioner Owen Ellington were conferred with the Order of Distinction (OD), Commander Class.

Ian Boyne, veteran journalist, Dr. Patricia Holness, Chief Executive Officer of the Registrar General Department and trade unionist Danny Roberts were also conferred with this honour.

And among those conferred with the OD Officer Class were Dean Fraser, saxophonist and music producer, singer Derrick Hariott and Superintendent Ionie Ramsey Nelson former head of the Constabulary Communication Network.

And of Jamaicans who received the badge of honour for gallantry was Colin Foster, 13, of Manchester who saved his great grand mother from a burning house.

Also honoured in this group was Dr. Warren Jengelley who received the Badge of Honour for aiding victims of the Portland tragedy in which a truck plunged into the Rio Grande valley.    

Sixteen Jamaicans also received the Badge of Honour for meritorious service.                                  



comments powered by Disqus
Most Popular
2020 CPL set for Trinidad and Tobago only