Blake and Jackson produce stunning 100m performances to take national titles

2011 world 100 metre champion Yohan Blake ran his fastest time in 10 years in winning his 5th national 100 metre title in a season's best 9.85 seconds at the National Stadium on Friday.

Olympic 100m bronze medallist Shericka Jackson took the women's equivalent in a drama filled final.

Jackson clocked 10.77 seconds to win ahead of Kemba Nelson 10.88 and Olympic champion Elaine Thompson-Herah 10.89 seconds.

32 year old Yohan Blake turned back the clock to record 9.85 seconds, his fastest time in 10 years as he edged ahead of rising star Oblique Seville who clocked 9.88 for second and Ackeem Blake who finished third in 9.93. 
Jelani Walker ran a personal best 10 seconds flat to finish 4th. 

Olympic bronze medallist Shericka Jackson was just outside her lifetime best, winning the women's event in 10.77 seconds to upstage Olympic champion Elaine Thompson-Herah who finished third in 10.89 seconds, behind Kemba Nelson who clocked a personal best 10.88. Briana Williams was 4th in a personal best 10.94 seconds.

Meanwhile, world Under-20 champion Tina Clayton set a new national junior record, scorching her way to 10.96 seconds to land the under-20 girls 100m final.


comments powered by Disqus
Most Popular
Airline launches probe after Jamaican...
T&T public sector workers protest 4% wage...