Bolt dominates RJRGLEANER Sports Foundation virtual awards ceremony

Report by RJRGLEANER Communications Group Sports Reporter Jordan Forte

Despite the fact that no national Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year Awards were presented this year, retired 8-time Olympic champion Usain Bolt still walked away with two prizes on Friday.

This, as the RJRGLEANER Sports Foundation commemorated its 60th year in a pre-packaged ceremony which was aired on TVJ  on Friday night. 

Steve Bucknor, who was a longtime servant of the sporting industry, was a world renowned cricket umpire and a FIFA  referee, was given the Lifetime Achievement Award for his decades of service to sport.

Olympian Vilma Vharlton who now serves on the executive of the Jamaica Athletics Administrative Association (JAAA(), and competed in track and field for the country, received the Chairman's Award.

One previous winner of the sportsman and woman award was also recognized for each of the previous 6 decades. 8-time Olympic champion Bolt was given a Diamond Decade Award for 2 decades, having copped the prize for the 10 year span from 2001 to 2010 and 2011 to 2020.

Bolt shared the 2001-2010 honours with Veronica Campbell-Brown and the 2011-2020 accolade with Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce.

Deon Hemmings-McCatty and Courtney Walsh were the winners for 1991-2000, Merlene Ottey and Mike McCallum for 1981-90, Marilyn Neufville and Donald Quarrie for 1971-80 and Monica Desouza and George Kerr for 1961-70.

Elaine Thompson-Herah in track and field, cricketer Jermaine Blackwood, Christopher Binnie in squash, swimmer Alia Atkinson and body builder Ricky James received performance acknowledgements in the absence of a national sportsman or sportswoman award this year.



comments powered by Disqus
Most Popular
MAJ calls for use of Ivermectin to help treat...
IATA launching COVID-19 travel pass
Prime Minister to announce new measures to...