Fraser-Pryce and Blake head team for World Relays

Olympic medallists Elaine Thompson, Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce, Yohan Blake and Nesta Carter have been named in a strong 42 member Jamaican team for the IAAF World Relays in Yokohama, Japan from May 11-12. Uncharacteristically, both Thompson and Fraster-Pryce have only been named to compete in the 4X200 metres along with Shashalee Forbes and quarter-milers Shericka Jackson and Stephanie-Ann McPherson.

The women's 4x100m list includes three members of the London 2017 World Championship bronze medal winning team, Jura Levy, Natasha Morrison and Forbes as well as Jonielle Smith and Sherone Simpson. Two members of Jamaica's world record sprint relay team from 2012, Yohan Blake and Nesta Carter, will be joined by 2018 NACAC 100m champion Tyquendo Tracey as well as Julian Forte, Kenroy Anderson and Jevaughn Minzie.

London 2017 400m finalists Nathon Allen and Demish Gaye will be joined by national record holder Rusheen McDonald, Akeem Bloomfield and Fitzroy Dunkley in the mile relay. The women's 4x400 team comprise Christine Day, Anastasia Le-Roy, Chrisann Gordon, Roneisha McGregor and 400m hurdler Janieve Russell.

Olympic and World Championship gold medallists Omar McLeod and fellow hurdler Hansle Parchment are noticeable omissions from the mixed shuttle hurdles squad which comprises Commonwealth Games champion Ronald Levy, Yanique Thompson, Megan Tapper, Norman Pittersgill, Amoi Brown, and Andrew Riley

The nation has also entered a mixed relay squad with World Championship mile relay medallist Javon Francis, Rhonda Whyte, Tiffany James, Anthony Carpenter, Shiann Salmon, Jamari Rose. The six member coaching team will be led by Maurice Wilson.

comments powered by Disqus
Most Popular
General Accident launches new insurance...
UK contributes US$3.8 million to the...
Wall Street mixed amid US-China tensions