Gayle among 4 Jamaicans in Windies T20 World Cup squad

Four Jamaicans have been named in the West Indies 15-man squad for the World T20 title defence in the United Arab Emirates next month that also sees the recall of Ravi Rampaul to the regional team for the first time in six years and the surprise exclusion of Jason Holder.

The two time T20 World Cup champions to be captained by Keiron Pollard who will be playing his first ICC event since 2013, sees Chris Gayle, Fabian Allen, Andre Russell and Oshane Thomas as the Jamaicans in the 15-man squad.

Left arm pacer Sheldon Cottrell is only good enough for the reserves. There is no place in the squad for Sunil Narine who is the most economical spinner in the Caribbean Premier League.

Jason Holder was omitted from the squad due to combinations according to the lead selector Roger Harper.

The rest of the squad sees the core of the team that played in the home matches against South Africa, Australia and Pakistan.

The squad: Kieron Pollard (captain), Nicholas Pooran, Fabian Allen, Dwayne Bravo, Roston Chase, Andre Fletcher, Chris Gayle, Shimron Hetmyer, Evin Lewis, Obed McCoy, Lendl Simmons, Ravi Rampaul, Andre Russell, Oshane Thomas, Hayden Walsh Jr.

Reserves: Darren Bravo, Sheldon Cottrell, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein.


comments powered by Disqus
More Stories
Most Popular
11 children among COVID-19 deaths in Jamaica
Singer Karen Smith has died
Four persons killed in Havana Heights,...