Kings and Patriots to square off for CPL 2021 title

A new champion will be crowned in Wednesday's  final of the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) Twenty20 as last year's winners the Trinbago Knight Riders were booted from the competition by the St Lucia Kings, losing by 21 runs.

In what was a repeat of the 2020 final, the St Lucia Kings who elected to bat, rattled up 205-4.

Mark Deyal led the way with 78, while Tim David got an unbeaten 38, Roston Chase 36 and David Wiese an undefeated 34. Akeal Hosein, Ravi Rampaul, Sunil Narine and Khary Pierre all claimed a wicket each.
The Knight Riders who were set 206 to win, could only muster 184 all out in 19.3 overs.

Wiese completed a man of the match effort by bagging 5-39, while Keemo Paul had 2-21 and Wahab Riaz 2-36.

Meanwhile, in Tuesday's second semi-final Jamaican Chris Gayle and the St Kitts and Nevis Patriots easily got by the Guyana Amazon Warriors by 7 wickets.

Batting first, the Guyana Amazon Warriors posted 178-9 from their 20 overs. Shimron Hetmyer topscored with an unbeaten 45, while captain Nicholas Pooran got 26 against two wicket hauls by Jon Russ Jaggesar, Dominic Drakes, Naseem Shah and Fawad Ahmed.

Chasing 179 to win, the Patriots were piloted by Evin Lewis with an undefeated 77 off 39 balls and Chris Gayle 42 from 27 as they cruised home at 181-3 in 17.5 overs.

This will be the second trip to the final for the Patriots. The final gets underway at 8:00 am Jamaica time at Warner Park in St Kitts.



comments powered by Disqus
More Stories
Most Popular
11 children among COVID-19 deaths in Jamaica
Singer Karen Smith has died
Four persons killed in Havana Heights,...