Thompson and McPherson win Diamond Trophies

Double Olympic sprint champion Elaine Thompson won her first ever Diamond Trophy while her MVP teammate Julian Forte was the other Jamaican to secure a win as the IAAF Diamond League series came to an end in Brussels, Belgium on Friday.

Thompson’s time of 10.72 seconds, equaled the meet record set by her role model Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce back in 2013.

Christania Williams was third in 11.09 seconds with Simone Facey 6th in 11.23 and Natasha Morrison eighth in 11.64.

Another of coach Stephen Francis’ charges, Julian Forte held off the challenge of the Brit Adam Gemili to win the men's 200 in a tight finish, clocking a personal best 19.97 seconds to break 20 seconds for the first time, becoming just the 10th Jamaican to accomplish the feat.

Despite not getting the win, Stephenie McPherson took the Diamond Trophy for the women’s 400 metres.

McPherson clocked 50.51 seconds for third with teammate and Olympic bronze medallist Shericka Jackson fourth in 50.73.

Olympic 800 metres champion Caster Semenya showed her versatility taking the win in a personal best 50.40 seconds.

Four time Diamond Trophy winner Kaliese Spencer ended third in the women's 400 metres hurdles in 55.05 seconds with the win going to American Cassandra Tate in 54.47.

Elsewhere, Commonwealth champion Kimberly Williams registered 13.84 metres for fifth in the women's triple jump. The event was won by Olympic champion Caterine Ibarguen of Colombia with 14.66 metres.

National champion Damar Forbes had to settle for sixth in the men's long jump with a best leap of 7.77 metres.

The event went to South Africa's Olympic silver medallist Luvo Manyonga with a personal best 8.48 metres.



comments powered by Disqus
More Stories
Most Popular
Toddler dies in St. Elizabeth after being...
Major gun bust at Sangster International...
Bahamas to start national financial literacy...