Tridents beat Amazon Warriors to win 2019 CPL

The Barbados Tridents are the 2019 Hero Caribbean Premier League champions after a comfortable 27 run win over the Guyana Amazon Warriors at the Brian Lara Cricket Academy on Saturday night. Batting first, the Tridents got off to a good start posting 43 for the first wicket. 

Openers Johnson Charles 39 and Alex Hales 28, provided the firepower at the top but it was Johnathan Carter with 50 not out that guided the Tridents to 171-6. Ashley Nurse also chipped in with 19 as four bowlers had a wicket each. In reply Jamaican Brandon King top scored with 43 from 33 deliveries but it wasn’t enough as the Amazon Warrors were restricted to 144-9.

Kemo Paul scored 25 while Nicholas Pooran made 24 against Raymon Reifer bagged 4-24. There were also two wickets each for Harry Gurney and Ashley Nurse. This was the fifth trip to the finals for the Warriors and their third straight but they are yet to lift the title. Meanwhile, Brandon King and Fabian Allen have been named to the CPL  tournament’s Best X1.

King ended the tournament with the most runs, scoring 496 in 12 innings at an average of 55.11 with a highest score of 132 not out. His innings was also the highest individual total in the history of the CPL. Allen's best innings came against the Jamaica Tallawahs where he scored 64 from 27 deliveries to lead the St Kitts and Nevis Patriots to victory.

The tournament X1 is completed by Glen Phillips, Lendl Simmons, Shoaib Malik, Kieron Pollard, Jason Holder, Sunil Narine, Imran Tahir, Hayden Walsh Jr who ended as the tournament's leading wicket taker and Harry Gurney.

comments powered by Disqus
More Stories
Most Popular
2020 CPL set for Trinidad and Tobago only