Tallawahs dominate Royals to win third CPL title

The Jamaica Tallawahs are Caribbean Premier League champions for the first time in six years and third time overall after recording a comprehensive 8 wicket win over the Barbados Royals in Friday night’s final at the Providence Stadium in Guyana.

The Tallawahs who were set 162 to win, cruised home to 162-2 in 16.1 overs. Hero of the Tournament and Man of the Match Brandon King led the way with a punishing undefeated knock of 83 which included 2 sixes and 13 fours.

He shared a second wicket stand of 86 with Shamarh Brooks who weighed in with 47.

King also shared an unbroken third wicket stand of 75 with captain Rovman Powell who was left unbeaten on 14.

The Royals had earlier posted 161-7 in their 20 overs, having elected to bat. Azam Khan topscored with 51 with three sixes and 4 fours, while Rahkeem Cornwall made a blistering 36 off 21 balls including 4 sixes and 2 fours.

His opening partner Kyle Mayers got 29 off 19 deliveries with 6 fours. Fabian Allen bagged 3-24 and Nicholson Gordon 3-33.

comments powered by Disqus
More Stories
Most Popular
FDI in the Caribbean rose by 40%
Guyana signs first sale agreement on carbon...
Mailpac now has new online barrel shipping...