Jamaica among first six netball teams to qualify for 2022 Commonwealth Games

The first six netball teams to have qualified for the Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games have been confirmed, and represent four continents.

England, the host nation, and the five other top-ranked teams in the world netball rankings as of July 28 secured the first half of the Birmingham 2022 berths.

Australia, world champions New Zealand, Jamaica, South Africa and Malawi all occupy top-six spots in the world rankings and therefore have had their places at the Commonwealth Games confirmed.

The six eligible countries ranked 7th to 12th on January 31, 2022 will be invited to join them.

World Netball and the Commonwealth Games Federation (CGF) extended the qualification process to allow teams more time to play matches and earn valuable ranking points, given the impact of the Covid-19 pandemic on international fixtures.



comments powered by Disqus
More Stories
Most Popular
Tropical Depression 9 strengthening as it...
Public sector workers to begin receiving...
Tropical Storm Ian now producing rain in...