Pollard and Mumbai Indians win IPL 2020

West Indies limited overs captain Kieron Pollard is now the winningest player in T20 cricket history as his Mumbai Indians beat Shimron Hetmyer's Delhi Capitals by 5 wickets to win the Indian Premier League (IPL) title on Tuesday.

Batting first, the capitals posted 156-7 off their 20 overs with Shreyas Iyer top scoring with 65. Rishab Pant made 56, while West Indies player Shimron Hetmyer added only 5.

Trent Boult took 3-30 for the Mumbai side. Pollard went wicketless from his one over for 13 runs.

In reply, Mumbai got to their target with 8 balls to spare, thanks to skipper Rohit Sharma who top scored with 68.

Anrich Nortje took 2-25 for the Capitals. Jofra Archer won the Player of the Tournament award after taking 20 wickets.

KL Rahul was the overall top scorer with 670 runs, while Kagiso Rabada was the top wicket-taker with 30 scalps.

This is Mumbai’s fifth crown and it's the first time an IPL franchise is winning the tournament back to back since 2010 and 2011 which was done by the Chennai Super Kings.

The win also meant Pollard became the most decorated T20 player in history with 15 titles, one ahead of countryman Dwayne Bravo who has 14.

comments powered by Disqus
More Stories
Most Popular
Former NAJ president Edith Allwood Anderson...
Four persons killed in Havana Heights,...
Agriculture & Fisheries Minister Floyd Green...