Canada approves several Caribbean countries for visa-free travel

Canada on Tuesday said it will allow visa-free travel to "known travellers" from 13 more countries, including St. Vincent and the Grenadines (SVG).
The visa-free travel has also been extended to nationals from Antigua and Barbuda, St. Lucia, Trinidad and Tobago, St. Kitts-Nevis, Panama, Argentina, Costa Rica, Uruguay, Morocco, Seychelles, Thailand and the Philippines.
Canada's Minister of Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship, Sean Fraser, said  the "known travellers" will be allowed entry into the country after obtaining an electronic travel authorisation.
A known traveller is someone who holds a Canadian visa, obtained one over the last 10 years or holds a valid United States visa.
The electronic travel authorisation will be valid for five years, or until the holder's passport expires, whichever comes first.
The visa-free travel comes 11 years after Canada imposed visa requirements for St. Vincent and the Grenadines passport holders, expressing concerns about the integrity of the issuing procedures in Kingstown.

comments powered by Disqus
More Stories
Most Popular
TAJ employee charged in multi-million dollar...
Earthquake rattles sections of Jamaica
Stocks: Paramount Trading leads today's 27...